COAL CHAMBER – RIVALS (Review)

image

Released in: May 2015

Rivals is the fourth studio album by the American nu-metal band Coal Chamber. It’s been 12 years since their last album was released. Dez Defara is also the frontman of the melodic death metal band Devil Driver.

I was hoping that this record would be a fantastic comeback from one of my favorite nu-metal bands in the 90’s, but after hearing all the tracks, I think it’s time for the band to cease making studio albums before they begin hurting themselves.

The beginning of the track called I.O.U Nothing was a good jump start of the entire record. Those vigorous distorted downtune guitars gave me a good affection, makes you feel you’re back in your youth 15 years ago where nu-metal was at it’s highest peak, but as the album progresses each track, it gets too dull, monotonous and uninspiring. Wait is probably the most tedious and laziest song I ever heard on the record. The chorus is absolutely the same as their previous song called “Something Told Me” then what horrified me was the last part where they stole the sound from Korn’s “Falling Away From Me” hard smashing intro. Then there are a few interludes being put on this record which I’m not happy about it. They’re so fruitless and you’re beginning to think that these interludes were pointless to add on a 13th track album. Though despite the record’s lack of art, lack of aggressive beats and Defara’s painful and ludicrous lyrics however, there is one track that I loved and it’s worth revisiting on this record which is Fade Away(Karma Never Forgets). This track has an impressive groove metal element feel and it blends perfectly well with Coal Chamber’s signature riffs.

Overall, this record didn’t live up to my expectations. I think Coal Chamber decided to play safe or not taking risks and be more edgy towards their music. Maybe they did it for the nu-metal fan service audience and they careless to evolve into something that would possibly make them rise up to fame again. Yes, this studio album blows in my opinion.

Review Score: 3/10

Favorite Track Ever: Fade Away(Karma Never Forgets)

Published by

spoonfeedmesite

Just a regular who enjoys music so much! My reviews are straight forward and simple.

Leave a comment